TGIF – Hectic Morning?

I woke up late today! You know the feeling. Your laying in your warm bed, the weight of the comforters securely resting upon you, the room is dark, leaving you guessing what time it is. When you finally give in to fluttering your eyes open and stretching your legs out, that wonderful feeling of blood rushing from your pinky toes to your fingertips, while you curve your back off the mattress, immediately followed by the relaxing release. You contemplate rolling over for just a few minutes more, it must be so early, you think to yourself.  That’s exactly when my responsible six year old daughter came in my room, with her new fuzzy robe tied tightly over her pajamas, “Mom, I think its late. Don’t we have to get ready for school?”

What?!! What time is it?!!!  Shit! Its late, my son has less than twenty minutes to catch a bus and the girls and I have only forty minutes to compromise on reasonable outfits! I glance out the window and it looks as if we have been inserted into someone’s snow globe.  A thin blanket of untouched snow covers the ground, while a whirlwind of tiny white flakes dance around in the sky. There is no way I want to have to drive kids to school today! They must catch the bus!!!

I practically throw a bowl of cereal at my son, while chanting at him to HURRY! While he consumes spoonfuls of flakes, I am kneeled under the table getting his socks and shoes on, there is no time to waste.  After swooping his bowl away, rush him through brushing his teeth and hair, getting on his coat, hat and gloves and running him out to the bus stop – WE MADE IT, just in the nick of time.  Returning back into the house, I have just under a half our to get the two girls ready, which would be ample time for any other child, I’m sure. However these girls will drive me crazy. I will have to give ultimatums before we “agree” on a suitable outfit for school. They would prefer to wear their white dress shoes from Easter, blue tights, red and green tutu with an orange sweater.  I insist that they look like Rainbow Brite. They inform me mismatching is cool! Duh! Have I mentioned its snowing out?   “Go put on leggings, boots and a sweater.” They look at me wide eyed. “Please” I add for good measure.  Nothing. They just stand there. “Go!” I snap sternly. We don’t have much time left before the bus comes. “NOW!” I need to holler out before they turn on their heals and change their ridiculous outfits.  My little one is in nursery school twice a week, which is not today! Thank the heavens. Although, she’s easier to comply.

We made the bus! Their teeth were brushed, hair was done, and dressed for school in adorable and practical outfits.  Its a Friday miracle!! These two are in Kindergarten and 1st grade! I know I’m in for it!  I have tried planning out clothes the night before and have rewarded them for being easygoing. I have removed all “crazy” clothes, not to temp  them and have given in to them, so they can just get it out of their system – Nothing works!

Am I alone here? Does anyone’s children believe they are attending a red carpet event, when they have to leave for school?  Has anyone else’s children have no rational thinking when considering the weather?  Anyway, I am going to sip my coffee and think about the moments of when I was in bed, blissfully unaware of the time.  TGIF!!!

13 thoughts on “TGIF – Hectic Morning?

  1. We set our clocks ahead 10 minutes and my oldest picks her clothes out the night before. Trust me, it really pays off when you oversleep once in a while. My 10 year old is a drama queen and she drives me crazy. It doesn’t get easier. TGIF with the snow and all.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great job making the bus in a 20 minute, under-the-table-shoe-tying dash! Though I have a very easy-going son, my 6 year-old daughter, who is besties with your daughters, is s royal pain in the ass to dress (as you know and have witnessed). She thinks proper house attire is a sequined dress. Lol. I imagine it gets worse from here too. Ugh! Thank God for coffee. 😘

    Like

    • Yes, I have seen your daughter wear the most beautiful dresses prancing around the house. I don’t know how we are going to make it through adolescents. For now, I just shake my head and take another sip of my coffee. Thank you for reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh man. I do not like getting up late. My normal alarm clock is my son. And the times he decides to sleep in really bite me in the butt. Right now I’m doing okay with one baby, I can’t even imagine three kids right now. Tomorrow is a better day 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

